Carl DeMaio to Target Politicians Who Are Raiding San Diego’s Road Repair Funds

Reform California, which led the successful Recall of State Senator Josh Newman over the Gas Tax Hike, Releases List of “Road Raiding Politicians” and Kickoff of Funded Campaign to Mobilize Voter Anger Against Them, Threatens Recalls

Reform California today released a list of “Road Raiding Politicians” who serve on the SANDAG board and have come out in support of an outrageous proposal to overturn the terms of a voter-approved tax hike measure from 2004 (TransNet Sales Tax) by diverting funds specifically earmarked for road improvements to transit and bike projects.

“San Diego taxpayers are paying high taxes already and should be driving on pristine roads, but politicians continue to fraudulently raid our road repair funds,” said Carl DeMaio, chairman of Reform California. In addition to naming names with this list, Reform California today kicked off a campaign with an immediate $100,000 contribution to contact voters in these politicians’ districts to mobilize public anger on this issue.

“It’s time that voters band together and speak out loudly to demand an end to the raid on our road repair funds,” DeMaio continued.

If this raid succeeds, road projects originally promised to voters would be cancelled. Fortunately, if only 1/3 of the SANDAG board votes to oppose this outrageous raid on road repair funds, the raid will be BLOCKED. Reform California will also be publicly thanking SANDAG board members who have announced a clear commitment to vote against the raids on road repair funds.

“Any politician on SANDAG that votes to raid our road funds should prepare to face a Recall against them and removal from office,” DeMaio concluded.

Voters are asked to visit fixsandiegoroads.org to learn more and to join the effort, and to contact the elected officials below:


San Diego County Supervisor Jim Desmond
San Diego County Supervisor Kristin
Escondido Mayor Paul McNamara
La Mesa City Councilmember Kristine Alessio
Santee Mayor John Minto
San Marcos Mayor Rebecca Jones
El Cajon Mayor Bill Wells
Oceanside Deputy Mayor, Councilmember Jack Feller
Poway Mayor Steve Vaus
Coronado Mayor Richard Bailey
Vista Mayor Judy Ritter
Vista City Councilmember Amanda Rigby

San Diego Mayor Kevin Faulconer
San Diego Council President Georgette Gomez
Encinitas Mayor Catherine Blakespear
Lemon Grove Mayor Racquel Vasquez
Carlsbad City Councilmember Cori Schumacher
Chula Vista Mayor Mary Casillas Salas
Del Mar Mayor Deputy Mayor Ellie Haviland
Imperial Beach Mayor Serge Dedina
National City Mayor Alejandra Sotelo-Solis
Solana Beach Mayor David Zito

About Reform California

Formed in 2003 by former San Diego City Councilmember Carl DeMaio, Reform California is dedicated to holding state and local government accountable and fighting costly and unfair taxes, mandates, and fees because working families cannot afford a higher cost of living — and state and local politicians already have enough of our money. For more information, visit reformcalifornia.org